FFB: Fool's Gold - In Reference to Murder

In Reference to Murder is a labor of love, but tips are humbly appreciated. Or, if you prefer, consider buying an ebook.


Crime Lab Project

Our Mascot, Thumbster

« Mystery Melange | Main | Quote of the Week »

August 05, 2016


Richard R.

This is a series I like a lot, and began re-reading last Winter, with the first three. This one is up next. Fine review.


Is Bennett on vacation in this one? Or does has he moved from the small town job in the earlier novels?

Kent Morgan

I wondered the same thing. Where are the mountains? I read all the books in the series years ago and all I remember is that I liked them.

BV Lawson

I suppose the author is of an age where he doesn't want/need to write any more books, but it's a shame he didn't pen more in the series, Richard. We will have to take what we can get.

BV Lawson

Bennett isn't on vacation, but he *is* traveling. He's looking into the death of the husband of his ex-wife's college roommate to verify the body the police found with its head gnawed off by bears really was the husband. He stays at a motel and pretends to be an insurance salesman at first, hiding the fact he's really the police chief of Murphy's Harbor.

The comments to this entry are closed.


  • You can subscribe to a FREE E-MAIL NEWSLETTER by BV Lawson containing news, tips, links, trivia, giveaways and more!

Scott Drayco Novel #4: When crime consultant Scott Drayco’s long-AWOL mother returns and is charged with murder, he’s plunged into a world of secrets, lies, and cons.

Scott Drayco Novel #3: Drayco reunites with his estranged FBI partner to protect the partner's daughter from a serial killer who leaves musical puzzles as a calling card.

Scott Drayco Novel #2: A mysterious attack on a young disabled girl lures Drayco back to Cape Unity and into a sea of secrets and lies.

Scott Drayco Novel #1: A body found in a rundown Opera House with a "G" carved on his chest lures a former FBI agent into a web of music, madness and murder.

Eight Scott Drayco stories.

Scott Drayco races around D.C. trying to find answers to cryptic puzzles as a killer pulls the strings.

5 tales of crime and suspense, including Derringer Award-winning "Touch of Death."

Includes the Scott Drayco story, "The Lease of These."

Includes my story "Beside Still Waters."

Anthology edited by David Cranmer and Scott D. Parker, pumping out 13 knuckle-breaking crime tales.

Anthology edited by Chris Rhatigan and Nigel Bird: beautiful killers, visions of the apocalypse, and one severed arm on a quest for revenge.