FFB: The Man Who Didn't Fly - In Reference to Murder

In Reference to Murder is a labor of love, but tips are humbly appreciated. Or, if you prefer, consider buying an ebook.


Crime Lab Project

Our Mascot, Thumbster

« Mystery Melange, Christmas Edition | Main | Quote of the Week »

December 23, 2016


Todd Mason

I have a Bennett or two, presumably but not necessarily abridged, awaiting me in BESTSELLER and MERCURY MYSTERY issues in the stacks...pretty interesting background she had...I wonder why she gave up on writing, though some of the stories one reads about writing for the BBC at certain points in the '60s (and perhaps just general life-burnout for a middle-aged radical...) could lead one to see why a cessation occurred. (I suspect that she was consciously echoing the title of G. B. Shaw's THE INTELLIGENT WOMAN'S GUIDE TO SOCIALISM...Asimov did so, with his first major commercial success in book form, THE INTELLIGENT MAN'S GUIDE TO SCIENCE (later editions known as ASIMOV'S GUIDE TO SCIENCE, and Asimov would, almost apologetically, note that the original title wasn't meant to slight his women readers so much as to refer to the Intelligent Man who was the book's author.)

The comments to this entry are closed.


  • You can subscribe to a FREE E-MAIL NEWSLETTER by BV Lawson containing news, tips, links, trivia, giveaways and more!

Scott Drayco Novel #4: When crime consultant Scott Drayco’s long-AWOL mother returns and is charged with murder, he’s plunged into a world of secrets, lies, and cons.

Scott Drayco Novel #3: Drayco reunites with his estranged FBI partner to protect the partner's daughter from a serial killer who leaves musical puzzles as a calling card.

Scott Drayco Novel #2: A mysterious attack on a young disabled girl lures Drayco back to Cape Unity and into a sea of secrets and lies.

Scott Drayco Novel #1: A body found in a rundown Opera House with a "G" carved on his chest lures a former FBI agent into a web of music, madness and murder.

Eight Scott Drayco stories.

Scott Drayco races around D.C. trying to find answers to cryptic puzzles as a killer pulls the strings.

5 tales of crime and suspense, including Derringer Award-winning "Touch of Death."

Includes the Scott Drayco story, "The Lease of These."

Includes my story "Beside Still Waters."

Anthology edited by David Cranmer and Scott D. Parker, pumping out 13 knuckle-breaking crime tales.

Anthology edited by Chris Rhatigan and Nigel Bird: beautiful killers, visions of the apocalypse, and one severed arm on a quest for revenge.